Caprese Salad


DSC05094

*This post was written earlier this week but posting today as it was saved and I have travelled to the great state of North Carolina. I will be in the Durham area for the next week but hope to still get some post on anyway, maybe try some local grub hubs (suggestions). Have a great weekend and thanks for checking my blog out*

Its 11 days into August and I already have a new months resolution. NO MORE TRYING TO WRITE THESE POST IN FRONT OF THE TV. I do not know why I continue to further handicap my attempts to write when I already have a few things working against me. One, my sister and I are convinced that our mother was drinking Budweiser Tall Boys (at the very least) during our pregnancies. And two, my second semester of senior year at New Canaan High, I took way too much pride in the fact that the number of absences from English on my report card equalled my football number. What number did I wear you ask? It was in the high twenties. The amusement of that feat has diminished over the years. So today I write without Peter Griffin and his antics on the Family Guy. No more looking over the monitor to find out where Guy Fieri is going to clog his arteries next. Now I just wish someone would oil the wheel of that damn hamster running around in my head.

DSC05060

I like Caprese Salad but its something I rarely order when I go to eat. Mainly because I rarely order a salad but I also feel some restaurants put out a bland dish of tomatoes and mozzarella, sprinkle some salt and ask for 7 bucks. So when I first made a Caprese Salad I decided to add a small twist.  In advance I cook a clove of garlic (chopped) in olive oil for about two minutes. Let the olive oil cool then add your chopped basil and parmesan. Let everybody bathe in the olive oil for a few hours then pour over your salad when ready to serve. You don’t have to put all the garlic on the salad as your olive oil will be infused with the taste of garlic. There are many other things you can do like add some olives or balsamic vinegar, be creative and enjoy.

CAPRESE SALAD

1 large tomato, thinly sliced

1 large ball fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced

3 basil leaves (torn)

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 tablespoon parmesan cheese

1 clove of garlic, minced

course sea salt

ground black pepper

Heat garlic in olive oil over medium heat for 2-4 minutes, do not allow garlic to become brown. Set aside and allow oil to cool. Add torn basil and parmesan, let set for an hour or longer (if you don’t have the time you can use immediately but the oil will have a stronger flavor the longer its allowed to sit.

Place tomatoes and mozzarella on dish, staggered and alternating. Drizzle oil mixture over the tomatoes and mozzarella. You don’t have to place all the garlic over the salad as the main point is to infuse the garlic flavor into the oil. If you are a garlic lover and don’t plan on making out with anyone for the next 24hours, go crazy.

Sprinkle sea salt over the dish and take a few turns of the pepper grinder to taste.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Recipes, Salads

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Caprese Salad”

  1. August 22, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    Hi – stumbled upon your blog and glad I did! Some friends made this salad for me last month and I never got a chance to get the recipe. Yours sounds awesome! Thanks so much 🙂 I’ll be coming back around. 🙂

    • thedish22
      August 22, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

      Hi Tina, so glad that you enjoyed it. after you make it come back and let me know how it was and if you added any twist. traveling at the moment so trying to find time to get some more on. you can subscribe on the main page and get an email whenever i post something. Thanks again.
      Toriano

  2. August 22, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    Great! Will do that. I’ve been blogging for about 5 years now. Just recently moved from VA to Texas only 3 weeks ago, so I’m blogging a bit more than usual as well. Big change. So come on over and enjoy the pics and stories 🙂 Keep you posted on the caprese.

    Cheers,
    Tina

Leave a Reply

