Calle Ocho Festival – A Day in Havana by Way of Miami


Pork in Mojo Sauce

 

Calle Ocho is coined as being the largest Hispanic festival in the nation (although I would guess there are few Puerto Ricans in New York that would take issue with that statement). Calle Ocho is a one day festival spanning 23 blocks in Little Havana and is a way for Cubans to celebrate and share their culture. A culture, which includes great music, Cuba Libre (rum and coke), beautiful women showing a lot of skin, and some of the most flavor packed food in the world. The festival has been going strong since 1978 and in 1998 was recorded in the Guinness Book of World Record for having the largest conga line.

8th Street in Little Havana

Someone went a little heavy on the Rum

Walking down a side street making our way to the festival you can feel the energy and hear the pulsating Latin beats and drums. Stepping on to 8th street there were throngs of people, young and old, all shapes and  all sizes. Dredging through the sea of people, some dancing and, waving flags while singing. I found the smell of food intoxicating (or maybe it was the Cuba Libre).

I have to say I really appreciate Cubans and their love for pork. Everywhere I turned; there was pork, pork being grilled, pork being fried, someone basting pork with mojo (a sour orange based marinade with garlic and spices) or someone devouring pork. There was pork on a stick, pork on a pit, pork on a spit, I thought I had died and went to pork heaven. I stepped up to one of the vendors who was frying pork chunks putting them on a stick, basting it with mojo then grilling it….excellent.

Key Bites Catering’s rice and beans stuffed pig…awesome

We navigated our way down an alley behind one of the many stages. Ian (my ambassador to Miami and unofficial Mayor of Miami) got us into a private party catered by Key Bites Catering. At Calle Ocho my eyes were treated to some of the most gorgeous Latin women Miami had to offer but what I saw at the table was such a beautiful sight that it almost brought a tear to my eye…A whole pig filled with rice and beans which had taken the flavor of the pig. The rice and beans were awesome and had taken the flavor of the pig. The skin of the pig was crunchy and the meat tender and full of flavor. The owner of Key Bites, a jolly Cuban man, Jorge Luzarrago who came from Cuba in the 1960s as a child and food has always held food as a major part of his life. I thanked him for making my day and presenting a pig in a way I had never seen.

Pitbull on stage

We began heading back towards the stage where Cuban-American, reggeaton star Pitbull would be performing. Anyone who knows me understands that I am not a fan of reggeaton and I dislike Pitbull with a passion. Every time one of his songs comes on I look at the radio with discontent and change the channel then wonder how this guy could be famous. Putting my hate aside I figured it would be nice to see this crowd go nuts over the Miami born star. When Pitbull hit the stage wearing a white Don Johnson style suit and a powder blue button down, the place went insane. Cuban flags took to the air, people danced and jumped up and down. I looked up to see people dancing on rooftops to the back drop of a blue Miami sky. I don’t know if it was the bottle of rum that was attached to my mouth all day, or just the atmosphere of the day but I quickly found myself becoming a Pitbull fan. The songs I was never able to finish because I thought they sucked now had me bouncing up and down and trying to sing the words (which was tough because I didn’t know them and most were in Spanish).I gained a lot of respect for him because he put on one hell of a show. The background music was recorded but it had a live feel because there was a live drummer and congo player.

As the sun set the festival shutdown and vendors packed up. The streets were still buzzing with people and we made our way to the car happy and full (still trying to figure out how I ended up in a Red Lobster then almost got kicked out for putting my hand in the lobster tank, grabbing a lobster and kissing it…I will save that story for another post). I have been in Florida for over three years and don’t understand why this was my first time at Calle Ocho. The people were warm and friendly, the food was amazing as were sounds of Latin  music that danced up and down 8th Street. I enjoy festivals like this that transport you to another place for a few hours. I may never get to go to Havana but through the food and music, I get a feeling of what it might be like. I look forward to next March when this party rolls around again and just maybe I will learn the words to a Pitbull song so I can sing along……well not sure about that one.

P.S. I just found out that while I was watching Pitbull on 26th street, my favorite rapper Rick Ross was on stage on 17th street……I officially don’t like Pitbull anymore!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Events

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Calle Ocho Festival – A Day in Havana by Way of Miami”

  1. March 16, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    Great coverage. Everyone should de Calle Ocho Festival at least once in their lives.

    • Toriano's "La Buena Vida"
      March 16, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      I am already looking forward to the 2nd and 3rd.

  2. March 29, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    That’s wassup man, looks like you had a great time, and the food I bet delicious!

    • Toriano's "La Buena Vida"
      April 1, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

      Yes, it was a great time, I ate and drank well. Looking forward to next year so I know who is performing and plan a little better.
      T

  3. Leni
    April 1, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    T- You rock ! Base on our days hooping I was not to confident in you catching the pie at Joe’s . I like the Calle Ocho – going down in a couple of weeks wouldn’t mind checking it out. More pix of the locals. rjl

    • Toriano's "La Buena Vida"
      April 1, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

      Leni,
      Who says i caught it lol, Lorenzo might be saving that dough for you…..nah, it was a perfect catch because my name sounds Italian. That celebration is only once a year but I am sure you can go down to Little Havana and get some good food.
      T

  4. July 10, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Having read this I thought it was really informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this
    content together. I once again find myself spending way too much time
    both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  5. January 9, 2016 at 6:57 pm #

    Hope you’re well, I enjoyed the read! Keep up the greatgood work!
    🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Caribbean Departure Port – Miami, Florida « Cruise Ship World - June 13, 2010

    […] Little Havana For a taste of today’s Cuban living, go to Little Havana, the neighborhood where thousands of Cubans settled after escaping Cuba. Walk down Calle Ocho, check out cigars being rolled at the Credito Cigar factory, visit a cafe for a cup of real Cuban coffee and tour the Cuban Museum. For a taste of Little Havana’s Calle Ocho festival see https://thedish22.wordpress.com/2010/03/15/calle-ocho-festival-a-day-in-havana-by-way-of-miami/. […]

  2. Miami, Florida – Departure Port for Caribbean Cruises « Cruise Ship World - August 14, 2010

    […] Little Havana For a taste of today’s Cuban living, go to Little Havana, the neighborhood where thousands of Cubans settled after escaping Cuba. Walk down Calle Ocho, check out cigars being rolled at the Credito Cigar factory, visit a cafe for a cup of real Cuban coffee and tour the Cuban Museum. For a taste of Little Havana’s Calle Ocho festival see https://thedish22.wordpress.com/2010/03/15/calle-ocho-festival-a-day-in-havana-by-way-of-miami/. […]

  3. 2010 WAS A GREAT APPETITIZER FOR 2011, THE MAIN COURSE | Toriano's "La Buena Vida" - January 6, 2011

    […] Meatloaf Sandwich – Leftovers Done Right TostonesCaribbean ColeslawApple Pie EmpanadasCalle Ocho Festival – A Day in Havana by Way of MiamiCreamy Cheese Pickle WontonsGoodbye Burgers, Hello Steaks Tagsbacon bread Burger Bar and Bistro Burj […]

  4. What Started as Food Blog | La Buena Vida - August 10, 2013

    […] of me drinking tea with Iraqis, walking the streets of Singapore or enjoying the time had at Calle Ocho in Miami. My Son will never have to sit through a terrible sitcom to find out “How I Met His […]

Leave a Reply

