Durham Bulls Athletic Park


DSC00872

Over the years I have learned a few things from the City of Durham, North Carolina. Kevin Costner loves making movies about baseball, don’t hire Durham strippers  for a private party at Duke University and it is true that minor league baseball is thriving in this bad economy. Many people are feeling the pinch these days but families still want a way they can have a good time with the family and not take out a 2nd mortgage in the process. 

DSC00863

A great time on the cheap is exactly what people are getting at minor league parks around the country. For nine dollars we had great seats 5 rows back from 3rd base and there didn’t seem to be a bad seat in the 10,000 seat park. There was wide array of things to eat at the concessions stand and at reasonable prices. I have never been able to stomach the boredom of watching a baseball game on T.V. but I have always loved a day at the ballpark. The smells, sounds and taste to me are literally intoxicating, the smell of peanuts, funnel cakes and pretzels. The sound of the beer man shouting his song of beer “GETCHA BEER HERE….ICE COLD BEER HERE” or the sound a wooden bat makes when making contact with a 90mph fast ball. The taste of a good hot dog and that ice cold beer I spoke of.

 DSC00869

To sweeten the pot the said hot dogs were foot long and I was pleasantly surprised to see they had Yuengling on tap. The dog was pretty standard but it just seems to taste better while watching a baseball game. Having a beer at a baseball game is as American as dirty politics. Not wanting to be un-American I had a beer. And wanting to be a true patriot I made it a few more.

DSC00871

I am glad I finally had a chance to watch the famous Durham Bulls hit the field. It was an All-American experience and the classic old-style ballpark(with 35ft left field wall called the blue monster), snorting bull and fun atmosphere added to the experience. The hot dog was great and I only wish I had more of an appetite to try more food because everything they had to offer looked great. I am not sure why it has taken me so long to see the Bulls play but I plan to catch a game whenever I am in town during the baseball season. Till then I will just have to hit Blockbuster and rent “Bull Durham

 DSC00870

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Places

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Durham Bulls Athletic Park”

  1. Allison
    August 18, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    I agree minor league ball is the best. We have the Suns in Jax and the Sand gnats in Savannah. If you ever get to Jax and they are playing you have to go & if I’m around I’ll meet you there 🙂 The sound of the wooden bats – love it

    • thedish22
      August 18, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

      Deal…the SAND GNATS??? Interesting name. Yeah i enjoyed myself at that game more than I have at alot of pro games.

Leave a Reply

