How to Make Candied Nuts


Historically I have never liked any nuts except for peanuts but recently I made granola and it called for nuts and the only ones we had on hand were candied walnuts. While tossing them in the mix I found myself eating these sugar-coated nuts. Like bacon, if you put enough sugar around anything I will apparently eat it. This led me to want to experiment with making my own candied nuts and this is how it worked out.

1 cup of sugar

3 cups of mixed nuts

¼ teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

Pour sugar into a saucepan over medium heat. Stir the sugar with a wooden spoon as sugar melts in saucepan. Once the sugar has melted and turned brown, stir in the mixed nuts and ensure good coating on all of the nuts. Remove the nuts from the sauce pan and spread over parchment paper. Before the nuts have cooled pull apart with a fork.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “How to Make Candied Nuts”

  1. July 27, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Ooooh! I love candied nuts. Now you have inspired me to make them so thank you.

    • July 27, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      I aim to inspire. Please let me know how it works out and any ideas or anything you add. Thank you for dropping in.

  2. July 27, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Those look perfect – great snacks. Also, really great photographs 😀

Leave a Reply

