Chocolate Pecan Bourbon Pie


ChocoPecanBourbonLBV-2

Let me start by saying, I am not particularly a pecan person. I will just about never seek out a pecan. When given the choice I will normally order the item that doesn’t have pecans in it but a couple of weeks ago in my birth state of Connecticut, I picked the right time and place to stray from my ordinary. My Grandmother and I were in the nutmeg state for a couple of days and preparing to make the 9-hour drive back to the Carolinas early the following morning. I was dropping my Grandmother off at my Aunt’s when I remembered (or was gently reminded) that I was about to turn the car south without coming back with my “outta state wife tax” a.k.a. something sweet for Serena for my absence. When I pulled into my Aunt’s condo complex the sign on the first level storefront shined like a beacon of hope “Michele’s Pie’s”.

When I walked into the place it looked and smelled fantastic with a case full of delicious looking pies. On the walls was evidence that Michelle and her pie’s have been covered by local and national press more than Kim Kardashian’s seat cushions. She touted enough pie national championships to make both Duke and UNC jealous (27). I didn’t even know there was a Pie National Championship but I walked in the right place to find out because apparently Michelle has been crushing them.  Michelle walked out from the back to the counter and kindly asked me if I was looking for anything specific. She was very down to earth despite her clear pie celebrity status and after I explained that I needed something that would travel well she suggested the Chocolate Pecan Bourbon Pie. I walked out of the small slice of heaven with a small pie and a small loaf of pumpkin bread.

The next night after arriving back in Durham I slipped the little pie on to the table after dinner. Serena’s eyes lit up and the term “Happy Wife, Happy Life” flashed in my head.  We dug into the little pie with such veracity that I couldn’t believe I was enjoying something with pecans so much.  It was possibly one of the best pies I had eaten and a sense of sorrow fell over me as we fought over the last piece of crust from the small tin pan.  Knowing that one of us would have to drive 9 hours or get on a plane to get another crack at this pie was disheartening.  The sadness turned to joy once I started looking at her website and realized that the recipe was posted there. A full level of happiness returned once we realized that she would be selling these pies on QVC. So if you want to give the recipe a try, here it is!

ChocoPecanBourbonLBV-9

Chocolate Pecan Bourbon Pie

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1 Traditional Pastry Pie crust dough for a 9-inch single-crust pie
  • ¼ cup heavy cream (to glaze the crimped pie edges)
  • Filling
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • ½ cup plus 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1¼ cups dark corn syrup
  • ½ Tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp bourbon
  • 5 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted and kept warm
  • 1½ cups pecans, chopped
  • ¾ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Servings: 6 to 8

Active Time: 20 min

Total Time: 1 hour and 20 min

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.

2. To prepare the pie shell, on a clean, lightly floured work surface, roll out half a ball of dough with a rolling pin until it forms a 10-inch circle. Wrap the remaining half of dough tightly in plastic wrap and reserve it in the refrigerator for future use for up to 5 days. Fold the circle in half, place it in a 9-inch pie plate so that the edges of the circle drop over the rim, and unfold the dough to completely cover the pie plate. Using your thumb and index finger, crimp the edges of the pie shell. Brush the edges of the pie shell with heavy cream to create a perfect, golden brown finish. Set the pie shell to the side while you make the filling.

3. To prepare the filling, using an electric mixer on medium speed, mix together the eggs, sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, and bourbon. Be sure to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl at least 2 times while mixing. Add the warm melted butter and mix well. In a separate bowl, combine the pecans and chocolate chips. Sprinkle the pecan–chocolate chip mixture across the bottom of the pie shell. Pour the filling over the nuts and chips, covering them completely.

4. To bake, place the pie plate on a baking sheet and bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until the pie is firm. The edges of the filling will rise, but the middle will remain little loose. Don’t worry about this—the pie will continue to bake after it’s removed from the oven. Transfer the pie plate to a wire cooling rack and allow the pie to cool and set for 2 to 3 hours before serving.If you choose, drizzle each slice with bourbon sauce to serve.

 

Michele’s note: Chocolate-Pecan-Bourbon Pie is best enjoyed either at room temperature or warmed at 350°F for about 10 minutes. It can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 5 days. When wrapped tightly with plastic wrap, it can also be frozen for up to 2 weeks.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Eat Here, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

