My View of Christmas 2013


Life going to sea, I have come to accept one thing, if I miss a holiday one year I can look forward to being home for it next year and visa versa. Its not perfect, but it adds a certain level of predicability to my life. If I plan to be away for a holiday we often times just celebrate it on a date I will be home. I was away for Christmas last year so I was really looking forward to this one. It would be Devin’s 2nd Christmas but the first one where he could open his own gifts and be somewhat aware of what is going on. Seeing him spit his pacifier out in amazement of the toys and drum set next to the the tree was worth every single day I sacrifice away from him. We later went to my sister’s house and spent the holiday pretty much how they are meant to happen, good food, possibly too many drinks and no stress. Barring any major changes in my schedule I will be away for Christmas next year so I appreciate the time spent this year.

The Crew coming downstairs on Christmas morning

The Crew coming downstairs on Christmas morning

XMAS 2013 LBV-5

XMAS 2013 LBV-10

XMAS 2013 LBV-22

Always looking to support local Carolina business, I snatched this bottle of Krupnikas off the shelf because its made right here in Durham. Krupnikas is a Lithuanian traditional sweet alcoholic drink similar to a liqueur, based on grain spirit and honey, popular in Poland and Lithuania. We decided to mix it with a little apple cider and ice and a few hours later I was speaking Lithuanian.

Suffolk Ham from Rose's Meats and Sweets. Dry cured with salt, soaked in a marinade of black beer, molasses and spices

Suffolk Ham from Rose’s Meats and Sweets. Dry cured with salt, soaked in a marinade of black beer, molasses, spices then smoked for a couple of days. The pig was raised at Hight Farms in Macon, NC.

My sister showed us how placing two lemons under the skin of the chicken before cooking adds flavor and a bunch of humor to a oven cooked chicken.

My sister showed us how placing two lemons under the skin of the chicken before cooking adds flavor and a nice set of tit-tays.

Devin and his great-grandmother

Devin and my Grandmother

XMAS 2013 LBV-74

Me and my crew.

My nephew and brother-in-law after the father/son post Christmas Dinner battle rap session.

My nephew and brother-in-law after the father/son post Christmas Dinner battle rap session.

Tickle time with my sister

Tickle time with my sister

Nothing says Christmas like a kid looking loving into his dogs eyes while wearing a santa hat and bad sweater while said dog wears a Mrs. Klause outfit

Nothing says Christmas like a kid looking lovingly into his dogs eyes while wearing a santa hat and bad sweater while said dog wears a Mrs. Klaus outfit

XMAS 2013 LBV-61

Cousins playing with the GoPro

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: A Look Back

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

