Big Ass Zucchini Burger


ZucchiniBurger-6

I was recently going through some pictures and came across an epic burger I made this summer and somehow had forgotten all about. I like to call it the Big Ass Zucchini Burger.  You may wonder why I would give it such a name? It would most likely have to do with the fact that I topped it with a slice from the biggest zucchini I have laid eyes on. This Big Ass Zucchini was given to me by one of the farmer’s from the South Durham Farmer’s Market. Unfortunately I cannot remember his name or which farm he was from but he explained that he was just going to throw it to the hogs and I could have it if I wanted.

Zucchini Devin

On the way home I started trying to figure out what I would do with this beast. Knowing that I had some nice fresh ground burgers from Rose’s Meat Market and Sweet shop, I figured the right thing to do would be to slice a couple pieces off, fry them up and toss them on a burger. Before sacrificing the vegetable to the burger Gods, I let my infant son roll around in the yard with it and he found the odd new toy pretty amusing. If you happen to get your hands on a big ass zucchini (or even a regular size one) you could make zucchini fries (recipe here) or follow the steps below for a fantastic burger.

ZucchiniBurger

Ingredients:

Burger Patties

Zucchini

2 eggs

½ cup of your favorite hot sauce (for me its Frank’s Red Hot)

House Autry’s Chicken Breader (or make your own salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, bread crumbs)

Oil (vegetable, canola or peanut will do)

ZucchiniBurger-4

1.       Heat oil in a skillet to 375 degrees F. Heat grill, skillet or however you choose to cook your hamburger.

2.       Mix flour, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. If you are making your own breading the key is to just season the flour and taste to confirm it doesn’t just taste like flour anymore. Don’t go to heavy on the breadcrumbs, just enough to add some texture. Flour to bread crumb ratio should be about 3 to 1 in favor of flour. Place in plate or shallow dish.

3.       Mix hot sauce, eggs and beat until mixed well. Place in a shallow plate.

4.       Slice zucchini to desired thickness

5.       Toss burger patties on the grill cook to your preferred level of doneness and top with your favorite cheese.

6.       Dip both sides of a zucchini slice into the egg mixture then dredge in the flour mixture

7.       Place the zucchini in the hot oil and cool on each side for 3-5mins until golden brown.

Place the zucchini on top of the burger and rejoice in the fact that you are eating veggies today.

ZucchiniBurger-7

To view any pictures from this post please click here

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

