Pumpkin-Shitake Risotto with Pancetta and Pine Nuts – Spain Farms


Spain Farms Shitake

Last week I posted about my trip to the Durham Farmer’s Market where I came upon John and Dale Fluke of Little Tree Farm. They had an some chickens at their stall along with a chicken stock recipe. The wheels started turning in my head when I realized a few stalls down Spain Farms was selling some beastly looking shitake mushrooms along with stack of recipes placed on the table for a Pumpkin-Shitake Risotto with Pancetta and Pine Nuts. I grabbed my bird and b-lined it back to Spain Farms and scooped up a bag of shrooms.

A few days later I took the stock I made with Little Tree Farm’s recipe and embarked on a mission to make my first risotto. You may be wondering, as much as I cook and yammer on about food how have I never made Risotto? I really don’t have a good excuse so I won’t even bother to fabricate one…moving on. Making risotto is of course more labor intensive than regular old rice, pour here, stir here, pour some more here, stir there but the final taste is worth it. I think the worst part was the constant fear that I was screwing something up and wondering, should these things still be hard and when is this going to be done. I just took faith in the directions and it all worked out nicely. I normally have trouble following directions verbal and written and this is probably why I rarely follow a recipe in the kitchen.

If you follow this recipe you will end up with a very nice risotto full of flavor. I cooked a nice ribeye that I rubbed with hot oil and seasonings. I rounded things out with some roasted carrots I picked up from Lyon Farm so I could tell my Grandmother I ate my veggies.

DSC_0130 - Version 2

Pumpkin-Shitake Risotto with Pancetta and Pine Nuts

1oz. Spain Farm Dried Shitake Mushrooms

3 Cups chicken stock

½ cup mushroom water

2 oz. chopped pancetta

1 ½ cups chopped onion

1 T. minced garlic

1 cup uncooked Arborio rice

2 tsp. chopped fresh sage

½ cup dry white wine

½ tsp. salt

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 T. mascarpone cheese or goat cheese

2 T. chopped fresh chives

¼ tsp. ground black pepper

2 T. toasted pine nuts

Pancetta

Soak dried mushrooms in hot water and let sit for 10 minutes and slice. Save ½ cup of water from soaking mushrooms. Bring chicken stock and ½ cup mushroom water to a simmer in a med. Saucepan. Reserve ¼ cup of stock for later use.

Keep warm over low heat. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat with a small amount of fat to cover the pan. Add pancetta, cook 5 min. or until crisp stirring frequently. Add mushrooms, onion, and garlic; cook 6 min. or until tender. Stir in rice and sage; cook 1 min., stirring frequently. Add wine; cook 30 seconds or until liquid is absorbed. Stir in ¾ cups of stock mixture and salt; cook 4 min. or until liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring constantly. Add remaining stock mixture, ¾ cup at a time, stirring constantly until each portion of stock is absorbed before adding more (22 min. total). Remove from heat; stir in pumpkin, cheese, chives and pepper. Stir in reserved stock mixture as needed until risotto is desired consistency.

Spoon 1 cup risotto each of 4 bowls; sprinkle with pine nuts.

Steak, carrots and risotto

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes, Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Pumpkin-Shitake Risotto with Pancetta and Pine Nuts – Spain Farms”

  1. April 15, 2013 at 8:38 am #

    all you need is a mushroom that starts with a P! Beautiful recipe.

    • April 16, 2013 at 2:21 am #

      Are you a portobello fan chef? Yes that was a great recipe. I am going to check their website because I believe they have more there.

Leave a Reply

