Salt and Sugar: Kickstart a Dream of Meats and Sweets


I first heard of Justin and Katie Meddis a few months back during one of my bouts of trolling the internet for all things food. I saw pictures from the Pop-up dinners they had been hosting in the area and when they were not throwing dinners they were carving up various beasts. I learned that all of their food related activity was leading to one goal, to open a butcher and pastry shop in downtown Durham. I had recently purchased a snazzy DSLR that I wanted to put through the paces. I was also excited about their passion for their craft and idea of Rose’s Meat Market and Sweet Shop. I asked them if they would allow me to come into the kitchen and take pictures while they cooked the dinner at their next Pop-up Dinner at Kings Daughter’s Inn. I figured they thought I was crazy when I showed up and weaved in between them and the four staff they had assisting in the small kitchen of the King’s Daughter’s Inn. I knew they thought I was crazy when I called them a few days after the dinner and asked if I could do a video interview with them about the dinner. I wanted to make a video using the pictures from the dinner and add in clips of the interview. I had never given an interview in my life but I admired the road this young couple was traveling on, starting their own business around their passion for food and I wanted to come along for the ride because it motivated me to step out of my own comfort zone.

DSC_0039 - Version 2

Fast forward to about five months later, they asked if I would be willing to help them make a kickstarter video. I was excited about the opportunity if for no other reason than my own greed, I want a butcher shop in Durham pretty bad. I was also excited that they had trusted me to make a pitch video for a Kickstarter campaign that could literally help kick start their dream. Although its called a “pitch video” the best ones I have seen didn’t have someone trying to sell you their idea like a common salesperson. The videos that grabbed me the most and made me want to fund a project were the ones where the people let you now who they are and allow you to like them. When you like someone, you want to see them succeed, when you want to see someone succeed, you send money.  I like Justin and Katie, I like their idea and I wanted to make a video that at the end had you thinking “I like them too and I want to be a part of what they are doing”. So take a minute and watch the video and visit their kickstarter page here to find out how they are bringing their love for sweets and meats to Durham, NC.

“Dreams are  a projection of the kind of life you want to lead. When you allow your dreams to pull you forward, they unleash a creative force that can overpower everything in your way” – Jim Rohn

The music in the video is by North Carolina based duo Mandolin Orange and I can’t thank them enough for allowing me to use this incredible song to help convey they message. Please check out more of their music at www.mandolinorange.com and find out about where you can catch them live. 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Durham, Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rose’s Meat Market & Sweet Shop – Upcoming “Meat” & Greets | La Buena Vida - April 19, 2013

    […] Kickstart a Dream! […]

Leave a Reply

