A look back to December 2009 when I was on the Maersk Arkansas visiting the Iraqi Port of Umm Qsar. I got some great pictures during my time in Iraq and the ones in this post are some of my favorite.

Tea in Iraq (Umm Qasr, Iraq)

Tea in Iraq (Umm Qasr, Iraq)

La Buena Vida

Day 99 on the Maersk Arkansas

When I first found out that we would begin calling the port of Umm Qasr, Iraq to say I was apprehensive about it would be an understatement. The only images I had of Iraq came from the media and none of them were good. In my head I could only see, violence, bombs and a population of people who hate Americans and would do anything at a chance to harm to anything representing America. On our first night up the river towards Umm Qasr everyone was on edge and the half sunken ships lining our path up the river was a stark reminder of our history with Iraq.

When we first pulled alongside and the gangway hit the dock I didn’t know what to expect as the Iraqi longshoremen made their way onto the ship. I tried to think positive but in the back…

View original post 757 more words

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: A Look Back, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

