Chorizo, Calvander and Bell Pepper Wheat Bread – Durham’s Farmers Market


DURHAM FARMERS MARKET

501 Foster Street
Durham, North Carolina
Saturdays: 8-12
Wednesdays: 3:30-6:30
 

As often as possible I like to take advantage of the numerous farmers markets in the area. The ability to choose fresh produce and meeting the people face to face that grow them, motivates me to come home and whip something up and here is what I made using local, Carolina farm fresh products.

Produce: Red Bell Peppers

Farm: Flat River Nursery – Timberlake, North Carolina

Website: www.esinc.net/flatriver

Meat: Chorizo Sausage

Farm: Fickle Creek Farm – Efland, North Carolina

Website: home.mebtel.net/~ficklecreek/

Cheese: Calvander Cheese

Description – Inspired by Asiago.  Bursting with flavor, this cheese is wonderful shaved onto pasta, or just sliced with a chunk of  bread or an apple. Aged at least 7 months, made with raw milk.

Farm: Chapel Hill Creamery

Website: chapelhillcreamery.com

For a while I have been wanting to try my hand at making bread and after seeing recipes online for baking in a dutch oven I decided to give it a shot. I picked one and decided that I would add the ingredients I found at the farmer’s market that day and that is where the cheese, chorizo and red peppers came in. The bread came out very tasty but wasn’t as light and didn’t rise the way I expected. So I continue my experimentation with bread and will just post pictures for now until I get a better handle on bread. If you have any good recipes or suggestions please feel free to post them in the comments.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Chorizo, Calvander and Bell Pepper Wheat Bread – Durham’s Farmers Market”

  1. August 21, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Sounds a delicious recipe – thank you for including Chapel Hill Creamery’s Calvander in your dish!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ham, Swiss and Calvander Cheese Panini | La Buena Vida - September 3, 2012

    […] thick slices of Chorizo, Red Pepper and Calvander Cheese Bread or your […]

  2. Chorizo,Chicken, Red Pepper and Broccoli Cream Soup | La Buena Vida - September 10, 2012

    […] making the chorizo bread I still had a few red peppers and chorizo left over and was looking for something to put them in, I […]

Leave a Reply

