Oreo Pancakes – Sympathy Eating Gone Right


Your inner greedy bastard can attack at any time, usually when you least expect it. I was in our local Dollar General minding my own business when I laid eyes on a box of Jell-O’s Oreo No Bake Dessert. At that moment my inner greedy bastard hit me on the back of the head and said “Sir you realize you can make pancakes with this right? Grab the box and let’s figure it out later”. So I did as I was told and brought the box home and explained what was about to happen for breakfast the next morning to my wife. She looked at me with a look  that said “you are taking this pregnancy sympathy eating to a new level….you realize I am no longer pregnant right?” Yes I did realize that she was no longer pregnant and my pregnancy eating excuse had run out. All I can say is it takes time to turn the spigot of gluttonous ideas off so I just let them flow and here is the latest, Oreo Pancakes.

Box of Jell-O Oreo No Bake Dessert

–          ¼ cup crushed oreo crust mix

–          Package of filling mix

–          Cookie pieces

–          1 1/3 cup of cold milk

1 cup Pancake Mix or your favorite pancake recipe

–          2/3 cup of water

Cool whip

Butter

Pour milk into a medium bowl and add Jell-O/Oreo filling mix. Beat with a mixer on low for 30 seconds. Then beat on medium speed for 3 minutes. Set aside in the refrigerator for one hour

Make pancake batter per mix instructions. I used Wal-Mart’s “Great Value” Buttermilk Mix. 1 cup of mix is supposed to make 6-9 pancakes and that was perfect for two large pancakes to make the sandwich. I added ¼ cup of the crushed Oreo crust to the pancake mix and stirred well.

Lightly butter an electric skillet heated to 375 degrees and add the pancake batter. Turn the pancakes when the side facing up begins to bubble.

Remove from heat and spread the filling over the bottom pancake then top with the other pancake to make a sandwich. Top with a dollop of Cool Whip and sprinkle with cookie pieces.

The pancake cookie pictured was double stuffed for effect but how much you put in the middle is a personal preference. There was plenty of filling left over and I estimate you could make another 2-3 sandwiches depending on how much of the filling you use.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

