Picadilla Burger and Tostones


“Picadillo is a traditional dish in many Latin American countries and the Philippines (where it is known as giniling) that is similar to hash. It is made with ground meat (usually beef), tomatoes (tomato sauce may be used as a substitute), and other ingredients that vary by region.” My burger was based off the Puerto Rican version of picadillo that can be used to fill empanadas and renello de papas and also has sofrito in it.

HOW TO MAKE SOFRITO (www.elborica.com)

1 large yellow onion
1 pimiento (Cubanelle) or substitute with green bell pepper
1 red bell pepper or 1sm jar roasted red peppers
1 medium head of garlic (2 tbsp. minced garlic)
1 bunch of cilantro
12 ajíes dulces (hard to find and may skip)
6 leaves of recao – (Eryngium) (hard to find/skip)
¼ cup Spanish olives, pitted
1 tbsp capers
2 tsps salt
1 tbsp black pepper
1 tbsp crushed orégano
½ cup olive oil

Wash, peel, seed and coarsley chop everything. Put in a blender and pureé. Store in a glass jar covered in the refrigerator for later use. Freeze it in ice-cube trays and dump the frozen cubes in a freezer bag. This will be fried in achiote oil or tocino as the first step in recipes. This recipe makes about 2 large ice-cube trays. Use about 3 cubes for rice or soup that will serve a family.

I made a quick and easy version of this and added some scotch bonnet peppers sauce to add some heat. I mixed the sofrito into my ground beef and formed patties for the burger

Next, I cooked the burgers on the stove in a cast iron skillet. I like to get the pan hot then toss a little water in the pan and place the top on the skillet to steam the burgers. At the end I added some cheese and sliced olives then tossed the whole skillet in the broiler to melt the cheese.

While that was going I made some tostones to go with the burgers. To see my post on how to make tostones click here

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Picadilla Burger and Tostones”

  1. May 18, 2014 at 10:53 pm #

    Picadilla Burger and Tostones: Where do I find the recipe for the Burger ?? Need amounts of meat & how much of the sofito, used in the burger..

    • May 20, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

      Olga, I am sometimes I just eyeball things and didn’t measure. I will go back and try a couple different amounts then update it when I can. I would suggest one tablespoon for a pound of meat and see how that works.Thanks for your question and for checking it out.
      Toriano

  2. May 20, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    Reblogged this on La Buena Vida and commented:

    For Burger Month I am taking it back to 2012 when I made these Picadilla Burgers using sofrito in the mix. I want to revisit this and zero in on a good amount of sofrito to add to the meat as I most likely just eyeballed it at the time and the question has been raised.

Leave a Reply

