Seu Adonias – Macae, Brazil


I have only been to Macae, Brazil two times but have already managed to find a favorite restaurant, Seu Adonias. Seu Adonias sits right across from Cavalerios Beach and has yet to dissapoint me.

Above is one of the most interesting and delicious dishes I have eaten in a while, called Brave Miner or Mineirrinho Valente for my Portuguese speaking friends. It was canjiquinha prepared with boned pork ribs marinated in wine, smoked pork loins, homemade sausage, cheese, spinach, cream and red latern chili. You may have the same question I did at the time, what is canjiquinha? While I was slurping the stuff up the only thing I could think of is grits, but I was thrown off because I had never had grits in a soup, nor had I ever had it seasoned with anything but butter, salt, pepper and sometimes cheese. For my northern friends who may not know what grits are.

“Grits are a food of American Indian origin common in the Southern United States and mainly eaten at breakfast. They consist of coarsely ground corn, or sometimes alkali-treated corn (hominy). Grits are similar to other thick maize-based porridges from around the world, such as polenta, or the thinner farina.”

So when I got home I googled “canjiquinha” and this is what I found:

canjica: dried dent corn kernels

canjicão: popping corn / popcorn / mushroom corn kernels

canjiquinha: grits

What ensued was me running to the pantry, grabbing grits off the shelf and an enthusiastic attempt at recreating this dish but that is for another post for later.

This was my first time seeing Devassa beer in Brazil so I figured I would give it a shot and was pleasently suprised. I liked the light version so much I decided to stray from my norm and try the dark version and it did not let me down either.

“The Devassa brewery originally was a very small brewery near Rio de Janeiro, mostly thriving on its name, which roughly translates to “Slut” or “women who engage in promiscuous behavior”. Their earlier advertisement campaigns focused on this theme by showing a bottle of the brand, being stroked and caressed by a female person, and the bottle gushing beer foam. In 2007 the brewery was bought by Schincariol, a larger Brazilian brewery”

When I saw Black Turtle Bean Cream served with Pork Rinds on the menu it screamed for me to eat it and I agreed. The black beans were flavor packed and I don’t even need to explain the awesomeness of the Pork Rinds because the two words “Pork & Rinds” loudly speak for themselves.

“Cachaça  is a liquor made from fermented sugarcane juice. The word originates from the tamil word kachanasarayam, which means distilled moonshine. Early portuguese traders travelled to Malacca in south east asia, where the congregation of tamils there came about usage of this word.

It is the most popular distilled alcoholic beverage in Brazil. It is also known as aguardente, pinga, caninha and many other names”

It’s wrong to be in Brazil and not consume the national cocktail Caipirinha. The drink consist of sugar, muddled limes and cachaca.

“The word caipirinha  is the diminutive version of the word caipira, which refers to someone from the countryside, being an almost exact equivalent of the American English hillbilly. The word may be used as either a masculine or a feminine noun, but when referring to this drink it is only feminine (usage of diminutives is common in Brazil). In the Brazilian vocabulary, the word caipirinha is mostly associated with the drink itself rather than the class of person.The caipirinha is the national cocktail of Brazil.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews, South America, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

