Billy’s Halfway House


20110502-201113.jpg

Eating with my iPhone report (written and uploaded from my iPhone on site):

La Place, LA

I wish someone would have told me that most restaurants were closed on Monday nights in La Place, LA. Having that little morsel of information would have saved me the trip to Frenier Landing and a couple other places. Trying to avoid eating fast food twice in one day I stumbled on Bully’s Halfway House. Initially, the excess of late model pick-up trucks with fishing boats in the parking lot almost kept me from stopping in (nothing against pickup trucks or fishing boats but I have seen Mississippi Burning enough times to not want to end up in the wrong spot in the the deep south).

What I ate:

Abita Beer – my first time drinking it and impressed. From artesian wells in Abita Springs, LA. Reminded me of a Yuengling

Chicken and andouille gumbo soup ($4.95/cup) – a spoonful was enough to wish I had a bowl. Fresh off the bone chicken and the bites of the sausage lit my mouth up with it’s smokey flavor….excellent.

Shrimp Po Boy w/ fries ($6.95/sm) – fair sandwich and fries were ok

Overall a decent dive with cold beer on tap, local crowd and a great gumbo.

20110502-201157.jpg

20110502-201227.jpg

20110502-205313.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: Reviews

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

