DURHAM FARMERS MARKET / BROILED MUSTARD ASPARAGUS


Steak, Couscous and Broiled Mustard Asparagus from Little Tree Farm

8:00am – Noon Saturdays

3:30pm – 6:30pm Wednesday

501 Foster Street
Durham, NC 27701

Now that the Durham Farmers Market is open Wednesday’s  3:30pm – 6:30pm I decided the sun shining was a good enough reason to check it out. I planned to find a vegetable to go with the steak I already had marinating at home.

The local Farmers were selling artesian cheeses, farm fresh fruits, vegetables, pottery, meat, soaps and more. Lyons Farms had some big , good-looking asparagus and I know the fiance likes them so I grabbed a bunch.

The last stand we came to  was Little Tree Farm and after one taste of their whole grain mustard I knew I had to have a jar and incorporate it into dinner. My grandmother was eyeing the farm fresh eggs and after seeing the picture of the chick that laid them it was a deal.

On the way out, the smell of sausage cooking caused us to stop at Ever Laughter Farm where they had a skillet load of their Mild Country Pork Sausage. This was another case of love at first taste and I had to have a pound.

The best part about going to a farmers market is seeing the local farmers literally stand behind their product then going home and learning about the farms I just bought dinner from.

While driving home I figured I could add a twist to my balsamic vinegar asparagus and add some of the whole grain mustard into the mix and this is what I came up with:

Broiled Mustard Asparagus

1 bundle of asparagus

1 tablespoon of Little Tree Farm’s whole grain mustard

2 teaspoons of pomegranate red wine vinegar

1 teaspoon of soy sauce

1 tablespoon of white wine

1 teaspoon of olive oil

Turn on oven to broil

Mix the mustard, vinegar, soy sauce, white wine and olive oil. Drizzle 3/4 of the mustard mixture over the asparagus and toss well.

Place the asparagus int he oven and cook for approximately 10 minutes until lightly brown and tender.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

