North Carolina State Farmers Market


1201 Agriculture St ·  Raleigh, NC

Hours Of Operation
Monday thru Saturday 5:00am – 6:00pm
Sundays 8:00am – 6:00pm

A couple of weeks ago I finaly made it down to the State Farmers Market. Its a must visit for those that like to cook and support local farmers. There are plenty of fruits, veggies, pastries and other farm made goods. Most importantly they have a pork market that made me giddy. The Nahunta Pork Outlet has all of your swine needs and at amazing prices too.

Farmers Building
30,000 square feet for North Carolina farmers to sell fresh produce, plants, and other specialty items produced on local farms.  Plants are available starting in March and local fruits and vegetables are sold throughout the growing season.  This is where you can find the freshest and widest variety of produce and plants in the area.

Market Shoppes
There is plenty of room to shop in this 15,600 square foot enclosed climate controlled building.  You can expect to find fresh produce from around the country here as well as meats, cheeses, crafts, bakery items, custom picture framing, a market grill, and N.C. wines.  There is a wide variety of specialty shops with old-fashioned candies, N.C. gifts, soaps, and lotions.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Places

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “North Carolina State Farmers Market”

  1. Larry Blankenship
    October 6, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    You have to be kidding….a local newspaper your not, when you do features from distant states.

    Many many struggling local business’s would benefit from some exposure like this.

    You should be ashamed of yourselves.

    • October 6, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Hi Larry,

      Thank you for the comment and maybe I can clarify things for you. When reading your comment I assume that you have come to my site via the link on the New Canaan Advertiser Online Newspaper. I am a former resident of New Canaan, I grew up there and often return to visit family. The paper took interest in my blog as a former resident traveling the country/world and sharing my food adventures and did a story in Feb 2010 (https://thedish22.wordpress.com/press/). After the piece they also linked my blog with the paper to give local readers additional material to read online to supplement what is going on locally. Most local newspapers I have read around the country have a section dedicated to travel and places outside their general area (I know many New Canaan residents, visit, vacation and have children at school in North Carolina). When I am in the area I always try to highlight businesses in New Canaan and surrounding areas like my post on Burger Bar and Bistro in Norwalk (owned by a NCHS classmate), Joe’s Pizzeria in New Canaan, Shelley’s on the River in Stamford, Thali in Westport and Tuscan Oven in Norwalk.

      I hope I have answered any questions for you, thank you for stopping in and I hope you continue to check in on my blog.

      Toriano

Leave a Reply

