Capn Crunch French Toast and Snow Days


Since I am no longer skipping classes at New Canaan High School and in the middle of a 3 month weekend, pending snow days don’t have the same meaning as the did back in the day.  I love living in Florida. I love  the heat and sun that comes along with the zip code but as much as I hate to admit it, I miss big northeast snow storms. I have told myself otherwise for the past three years and avoided coming north during the winter. When I walked downstairs and saw all the snow piled up in the woods as far as I could see, a little of the past came back to me. My first thought was to round-up the gang of trouble makers I used to hang with and go throw snowballs at cars. Nothing quite compared with the thud a snowball makes when pounding the side of a car, then the rush from the people mad or crazy enough to chase us. Realizing that this probably carries a heavier penalty for a 32-year-old man than it would back in my teenage years I decided to settle for just shoveling the driveway ( I would probably throw my arm out anyway).

The Five Mile River

 

Of course I was looking forward to being snowed in because it would also means a day of good eating. Kris had some chili brewing in the crock pot and Matt had the fire going. Figured this would be a perfect day to try something I had seen on my favorite food show “Diners, Drive-ins and Dives”. The recipe is Captain Crunch French Toast and is a featured dish at Blue Moon Cafe in Baltimore Maryland. This recipe is out of this world, kids and grown men will equally lose their minds over it. The only thing I did differently is used rum extract instead of vanilla, a nut bread and added powdered sugar at the end.

Used half and half because the cow ran out of heavy cream.

 

INGREDIENTS:

(adapted from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives “Blue Moon Cafe”)

3/4 cup heavy cream

3 large eggs lightly beaten

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract or rum extract

3 cups Cap’n Crunch cereal

8-10 slices bread, nut bread

butter for cooking

FOR TOPPING (make this whip cream or use store-bought)

1 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Mix the cream, eggs, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl and whisk until combined.

Put the cereal in a storage bag and use a rolling-pin (or pot) to crush cereal until it resembles cracker meal. Transfer the cereal to a shallow dish.

Dip a couple slices of the bread into the cream mixture until soft but not completely soaked. Let the excess liquid drip from the bread, then press into cereal crumbs to coat evenly. Place on a sheet pan and repeat with remaining slices or go straight to the skillet or griddle.

Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium heat, add butter as needed , and cook the bread until caramelized on both sides, about 6 to 8 minutes total.

For the whipped cream topping: Beat the cream confectioners’ sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl with a hand mixer to soft peaks. Dollop on top of the French toast and sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar.

The rest of the day was filled with chili (chili cheese dogs, chili nachos and chili in a bowl with muffins) movies, shoveling more snow, building an X-rated snowman and a beer or two. Tomorrow I point the car south and head to warmer latitudes but I was glad I stayed an extra few days and got stuck in the snow and enjoyed a classic New England day of my childhood.

Tommy and I with snowdude. Could only show this guy from the waist up because he forgot his pants.

 

 Advice is like snow – the softer it falls, the longer it dwells upon, and the deeper in sinks into the mind.  – Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Sweets

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Capn Crunch French Toast and Snow Days”

  1. Mrs. Schu
    February 11, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Looks like a great way to start the day, Tori!!

    • Toriano's "La Buena Vida"
      February 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

      the only thing that could have made it better was bacon but we were all out. lol
      T

Leave a Reply

