Kris and Marje’s Banana Bread


It’s good to be back in Connecticut, except for fact that its freezing here!  Last week I got stuck in a snowstorm during the ride from New York on a snowcaked Merritt Parkway. The Parkway was closed after a crash and I decided to try my luck on backroads. During the  adventure, I witnessed accidents, abandoned cars in snowbanks and converted to Islam, Christianity along with a few other fringe religions. With the help of my prayers to various Gods, I made it home after a four-hour car ride that should have been a one hour drive. It was a fitting welcome back to the Northeast.

Another upside to being home is Kris’s baking. I don’t bake much but I have wanted to get some baked goods on here. Kris does a lot of baking and she is great at it. This morning I woke up just as she was about to start baking a Banana Bread from a recipe that her mother Marje used to make and here it is.

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 beaten eggs

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup over ripe bananas (approx. 3 large bananas)

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 nuts (optional)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

In a mixer combine butter and sugar, mix until creamed. Add eggs and mix until combined. Mash the bananas and add to the creamed mixture. Mix flour, baking soda and salt in bowl. While mixer is running, alternately add half of the dry mixture and half of the buttermilk to the mixer. Repeat with the remaining dry mix and buttermilk. Add nuts (optional).

Pour mixture into one large or two small greased bread loaf tins. Bake for approx. one hour until nicely browned. Poke the bread with a toothpick and the bread is done if no bread sticks to the toothpick.

Slice and spread with butter or cream cheese.

The most serious charge which can be brought against New England is not Puritanism but February.
– Joseph Wood Krutch

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Pizza and Breads

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Kris and Marje’s Banana Bread”

  1. July 17, 2014 at 3:26 am #

    Reblogged this on La Buena Vida and commented:

    Back in February of 2010, I had just returned from 120 days at sea in the Persian Gulf and I decided to spend a little time in my birth state of Connecticut. After 4 months of hopping around port cities in the desert, I guess a little New England winter was exactly what I needed in my life before heading back to Florida. While I was in Connecticut, Kris made some of her banana bread from a recipe that was given to her by her mother Marge. The bread comes out sweet, moist, perfect to spread a bunch of butter or cream cheese on and makes me wish it was February 2010 and I was sitting in Connecticut all over again.

Leave a Reply

