GOODBYE MAERSK ARKANSAS


The longshoreman foreman brought this to me in Iraq, along with the picture of the cow they slaughtered to make it (no lie).

 

More than 15,000 nautical miles traveled 

5 Countries visited 

7 Ports visited (over 40 port calls) 

The Iraqi National Team gets ready for the World Cup or its just workers playing during lunch break.

 

It has  been a week since I dragged all of my belongings down the gangway of the Arkansas and a lot has happened since. I am finally getting semi-settled and will be getting around to posting pictures from my stay in Dubai but wanted to say a final goodbye to my floating home for the last four months. 

Umm Said oil refineries from anchor

 

When I first found out this ship was on a middle east run I was less than excited. A trip in the Mediterranean, Europe or South American would have been more my speed but needing to work and support all of my vices I wasn’t about to be picky. At the end of the day I ended up getting much more from this trip than expected. The crew was great and never short of entertaining moments. There was plenty for me to photograph I would like to think there has been an improvement in my shots over the last four months (I like to think a lot of things but that doesn’t make them true). 

Sweets from the Fustka Co. of Iraq, these were so belly aching good.

 

Iraqi Sandwich

 

So whether you stop in regularly or if its you first time take a peek back at post from my time in the Persian Gulf. There are some great times and images that will be with me forever and I am happy I can share them with you. 

– T-Bones BBQ Ribs – BACK TO SEA 

– LUFTHANSA AIRLINES – NO CLASS IN BUSINESS CLASS 

– PULLED PORK AND MUSLIMS 

– STEAK DAY 

– TIME TO MAKE THE DONUTS 

– THE IRAQI DONUT MAN 

– CINNAMON ROLLS AND SOMALI PIRATES 

– DRIVE-IN IRAQI STYLE 

– I ATE, DRANK AND WAS MERRY – THANKS 2009 

This guy sells Iraqi coffee on the dock. Its kept hot with coal that sits in the bottom of the coffee pot

 

Tha Dogg Pound still alive and well when I left.

 

Felt a little rush of pride when these guys rolled though.

 

 

“We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came. ”
John F. Kennedy

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “GOODBYE MAERSK ARKANSAS”

  1. sroberto
    March 8, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    checked out your sight it’s good, still think it should be called the “ship’n chef”
    as of 18 feb the change still wasn’t made, but I hear they are now on the California
    see you in FLA

    • Toriano's "La Buena Vida"
      March 10, 2010 at 8:39 am #

      Ship n chef, that is still funny.Are you home? I was down in Ft. Liquordale a couple weeks ago. Thanks for checking in.
      T

  2. June 12, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    Reblogged this on La Buena Vida and commented:

    Three years ago last January I had just finished up a three month trip in the Persian Gulf on the Maersk Arkansas. I got more out of this trip than I expected and getting to see this part of the world was eye opening.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Empanadas « Toriano's "La Buena Vida" - September 20, 2010

    […] a fried, chickpea filled “empanada” from Iraq – I ATE THESE IN IRAQ INSIDE BREAD, CLICK HERE TO SEE PICTURE (ITS THE 5th PICTURE FROM THE […]

Leave a Reply

