LUFTHANSA AIRLINES – NO CLASS IN BUSINESS CLASS


DSC00924

Its been a long time hearing from me as I have been an infidel floating around the Persian Gulf for the last month and I know what your thinking, “is he really going to write about airplane food?” I apologize to anyone who is disappointed but yes, I am about to write about airplane food. I know, I know….when you think of an airplane, food isn’t usually the next word you think of. It’s hard enough getting free water on most flights let alone a meal that doesn’t taste and look like the bottom of a shoe….after taking a jog through your local dog park. So bear with me and allow me to tell you about my flight on Lufthansa Airlines from Miami, FL to Dubai, UAE via Frankfurt, Germany. Last month I got a Third Mate job on the containership “Maersk Arkansas” and would have to fly to Dubai to meet the ship in Jebal Ali, UAE. A stipulation in our union contract states the company must fly ship’s officers business class to destinations overseas. I had heard such things in the union hall from one of the old salts but didn’t pay it much mind as most old salts in union halls talk a lot and maybe half of it the truth. When I received my E-ticket I was happy to see the old man was right. After checking in I was given a ticket for admission into Lufthansa’s private business class waiting area called Club America. These are the places in airports I had always walked past and watched happy people go in and out. I always tried to peep through the doors to see what was so exclusive behind the big double doors, I was finally about to find out. I breezed thru the double doors, handed the lady my “golden ticket” and like a bright blinking beacon calling me, I made my way bar. With my guitar in tow I shuffled past the clean cut business people with their laptops out, reading the business section and talking about pressing “business” issues. Once at the free bar I decided to go with my regular pre-flight drink, Jack Daniel’s and coke on the rocks…minus the coke. Just as I was about to order I noticed the Johnny Walker Black, then the Ballentine’s hit my eye…..nothing like top shelf booze for free. I spent enough time in Club America to attain a nice pre-flight buzz then made my way to my gate.

 After boarding the plane I made my way to this huge seat that would have made Archie Bunker proud. I took my seat and waited for boarding to finish. After a few minutes a beautiful stewardess with a heavy German accent came to my seat carrying a tray of water, orange juice and champagne…..you know exactly what I chose. There were two things I couldn’t believe about that interaction. One, the stewardess was young and attractive, you just don’t see that on flights anymore because most of them look like they may have been working back with the Wright Brothers. Two, did they really just give me champagne before the flight even took off, was I on a flight heading back to work or a celebration. Soon the flight was ready to take off and I was goaded by the stewardess to chug the rest of my champagne so she could take my glass. After the plane reached cruising altitude my new favorite German was strolling down the aisle peddling more booze and since it was free I felt it my duty to consume,” Johnny Walker Black and Coke please”. At this time the menus were passed out and the way it read (with the accompanying wine list) I had to look out the window and check that I was really on a plane. The menu for this flight was prepared by Kaleo Adams, who is the executive chef at the Ritz-Carlton in San Francisco. The choices were the following.

Hors d’ oeuvres:

– Albacore Tuna Confit, hard boiled egg, Asparagus Spears and Capers

– Melon Pepper Medley, grilled Asparagus, sautéed Shitake Mushrooms and Balsamic Orange Vinaigrette

– Salad from yellow and red Chicories, marinated Herb Chicken Breast, Grapes

Entrees:

– Grilled Beef Skirt Steak, green Tomato Salsa, Duck Fat Potatoes, Spinach

– Roasted Salmon, Lemon Butter Sauce, pickled red Onions, Fingerling Potatoes

– Crispy Polenta served with grilled Pears, Spinach and Tomato Sauce Cheese 

Dessert:

– Cheddar, Camembert and Goat Cheese

– Bread pudding with Bourbon Vanilla Sauce

– Fruit Salad

Red Chicorie Salad with Marinated Herb Chicken Breast

Red Chicorie Salad with Marinated Herb Chicken Breast

First the stewardess came with the Hors d’ oeuvres and I selected the Herbed Chicken Salad. Following close behind was the beverage lady, she didn’t have to ask what I wanted. The salad was excellent, the chicken looked like it was really grilled and tasted the same. The salad was fresh and crisp; the grapes were a nice touch, strategically placed about the white dish. When the Hors d’ oeuvres were done they collected the plates and offered the entrees. I wanted to get involved with the skirt steak and duck fat potatoes but that was obviously a popular choice and they were all out. This turned out to be a good thing because it forced me to eat something I normally don’t, Polenta. The polenta was a pleasant surprise and reminded me of the texture grits takes after they are allowed to cool. The presentation was great and the pears were also bearing those magical grill marks, the tomato sauce was also a great match with the spinach. And did I forget to mention, with dinner came another round of whisky?

 

Crispy Polenta with Grilled Pears, Spinach and Tomatoe Sauce

Crispy Polenta with Grilled Pears, Spinach and Tomatoe Sauce

 By the time the stewardess come back for dessert I was full, feeling very nice (thanks to my travel companion Jonathan Walker) and comfortable in my lazy boy watching a movie. Keeping with tradition I was not about to allow a free dessert to go uneaten so I chose the Bread Pudding with Bourbon Vanilla Sauce (I know, I am so predictable). At this point I had it in my mind that I was done drinking but as she placed my dessert on my tray she said “Sir would you like a Port or Cognac with your dessert” to which I replied “why yes I would.” It was at this moment I was fully convinced Lufthansa was on a mission to get me completely drunk…..mission accomplished. The bread pudding was perfect and the vanilla sauce topped it nice with its soft hint of bourbon. The Cognac was Lherad VSOP and it warmed my soul and sent me to sleep on a great note.

Chicken Breast with Tomatoe and Bell Pepper Sauce over Corn Bread Puree

Chicken Breast with Tomatoe and Bell Pepper Sauce over Corn Bread Puree

All through this trip the words of my college football coach who chewed me out after dancing when I scored a touchdown played in my head, “ACT LIKE YOU”VE BEEN THERE BEFORE” I attempted to act like flying business class was a normal occurrence for me but there were numerous occasion that probably gave me away. It could have been me fumbling around with my chair for 10 minutes trying to figure out how it reclines before the person next to me picked up my remote control for the TV and showed me (seriously how would I know the same thing that controls the TV controls the seat). Or maybe it was the time I spent trying to figure out where I plug my head phones in before I realized they were attached sound canceling head phones that I had to pull from the armrest. It could have easily been the fact that I took my camera out and took a picture every time they brought out more food, the German fella next to me didn’t seem amused. By the second flight from Germany to Dubai the kinks were worked out and I hopefully looked slightly less ignorant.

Terrine of Braised Beef with Beans, Tomatoe and Red Onion Chutney

Terrine of Braised Beef with Beans, Tomatoe and Red Onion Chutney

Flying Lufthansa Business Class was definitely an experience. I was amazed at the lengths they go at every step to please the customer. The attention to detail with the menus which are created by world class famous chefs and wine list prepared by Markus Del Monego, a World Champion Sommelier. The menu for my second flight was done by John Besh of Restaurant August in New Orleans and was as equally pleasing. Although I was feeling a tad under the weather from my previous flight I was unable to turn down the pre-flight champagne but stuck with sprite the rest of the way. These flights left me with a taste of the good life in my mouth and it was nice to see how the other side lives. Lufthansa proved to me that just because its food on a plane does not mean it has to be your run of the mill cardboard tasting garbage. If nothing else I have two more flights to look forward to on my way home in January.

– Toriano Fredericks

Blueberry Crumble with stewed Fruits

Blueberry Crumble with stewed Fruits

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “LUFTHANSA AIRLINES – NO CLASS IN BUSINESS CLASS”

  1. Anonymous
    October 11, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Did you get the famous business class shoulder rub?

    • thedish22
      October 12, 2009 at 12:08 am #

      are you serious….no i didnt see any back rubs being doled out. now i feel cheated, next you are going to tell me there are happy endings haha. thanks for stopping by.
      Toriano

  2. Neisha
    October 14, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    My flight to Hong Kong (Cathay Pacific) was not my first first/business class experience, but by far the best!!! I too also found the experience so comforting that you really do forget you are flying and the food? Forget about it, I was so full I thought I would puke, and it never stopped coming. Seriously I am going to be in a seat for 16 hours I do not need to eat the entire 16, but drink yeah I can do that. I got buzzed, passed out, woke up and decided it was a good time to strap on another buzz. Understood why they charge what they charge, even though I wouldn’t likely do it on my own dime, thank God for policies that allow this type of luxury when employees must travel overseas, it’s something every human should experience at least once. Glad you got to have it, and wooh there’s always the trip back home! Hit em up style lil bro!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. GOODBYE MAERSK ARKANSAS « Toriano's "La Buena Vida" - January 19, 2010

    […] – LUFTHANSA AIRLINES – NO CLASS IN BUSINESS CLASS  […]

  2. THROWBACK THURSDAY - January 19, 2017

    […] – LUFTHANSA AIRLINES – NO CLASS IN BUSINESS CLASS […]

Leave a Reply

