T-Bones BBQ Ribs – BACK TO SEA


DSC05205

Its that time of year again, the smell of fresh cut grass, that cool fall breeze and grown men ramming  into each other head first causing untold amounts of brain damage every weekend. FOOTBALL SEASON, our favorite stars will take a break from shooting themselves in the leg, running over people with $200,000 cars (while drunk) and do what they do best, cause us to go on a four month eating and drinking binge.

DSC05190

Yes FOOTBALL SEASON, many wives and girlfriends worst nightmare because they have to deal with the euphoria of the wins and depression that follows after a home team loss (and some of you ladies are more fanatical than us). It’s the time of year when old washed up high school and college stars (like myself) sit around with buddies and talk about that state championship or 75 yard touchdown pass. You may even hear that guy talking about how he would have made it to the NFL if he had not blown his knee out at the roller rink….AHHHHH FOOTBALL SEASON. Like many of my brethren, I have waited all year for opening weekend. I froze through hockey season and slept through baseball season and now its here…….and I am going miss all of it. I just got a Third Mate job on the Maersk Arkansas and I write this post from Frankfurt, Germany (there are some very tall people here) where I am laying over waiting for my flight to Dubai. I will be bouncing back and forth between Jebel Ali, United Arab Emerites; Shuwaikh, Kuwait and Jubail, Saudi Arabia for 120 days. September may mean football for many of you but this year September is my Monday, back to work. The good news is I will be back for Super Bowl, the bad news is the Super Bowl isnt even the best part of the season, play-off games are. I did get to catch the opening weekend of college and the Thursday NFL season opener. To commemorate the start of college football last weekend I had a Pork BBQ-FEST. I didn’t have the time to write a full post about it but I did get a couple pictures on. I hope that when I get on the ship I will have a chance to download the rest of the rib pictures and the Pulled Pork Sandwich pictures. I also hope that I have the ability to try some middle eastern food and share it with you all. I already have alot to talk about with the spread they put out on the Lufthansa flight here. I haven’t started working yet and I already look forward to January, my Friday….talk to you soon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Meat

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “T-Bones BBQ Ribs – BACK TO SEA”

  1. Marilyn Coleman
    September 13, 2009 at 8:12 am #

    We must have a rib cook off between you & Jerry – other participants welcome….and we will need judges – unbiased which leaves me & meme out!
    When you return my friend….which will be sooner than we realize.
    Pork is ON………..
    hugs,
    marilyn

    • thedish22
      September 17, 2009 at 6:54 am #

      I am sure I can learn a thing or two from jerry but its on.

  2. September 14, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    Ahhhh Football Season! We men wait all year for this season and to have it ruined by work is simply heartbreaking. Take it easy out there as we will be keeping the season alive back stateside.

    • thedish22
      September 17, 2009 at 6:55 am #

      There is always next year….or arena ball…eeeewww

  3. Mikki
    September 16, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    W-O-W. Those ribs look AMAZING…*drool*

  4. September 20, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Reblogged this on La Buena Vida and commented:

    Three years ago football season was starting and I was getting ready to head to the Middle East for a four month trip on the Maersk Arkansas. Before heading to the land of the pig-haters, I got in a last taste of swine. Enjoy a look back to September 13th, 2009!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. GOODBYE MAERSK ARKANSAS « Toriano's "La Buena Vida" - January 19, 2010

    […] – T-Bones BBQ Ribs – BACK TO SEA  […]

  2. THROWBACK THURSDAY - January 19, 2017

    […] – T-Bones BBQ Ribs – BACK TO SEA […]

Leave a Reply

