Chinatown Hawker Stands – Singapore


Pork Fried Rice, Sinigang Na Baboy (Pork in Tamarind Soup), Fried Pork and the every present Tiger Beer

 Chinatown, Singapore  July 28, 2011

Thursday night I took the MRT into Chinatown and found a hawkers stand I have not been to yet. For those who do not know what a hawker stand is, “it’s the name given to open-air complexes housing many stalls that sell a variety of inexpensive food. They are typically found near public housing estates or transport hubs (such as bus interchanges or train stations).”

I always find it tough picking something to eat at hawker stands, its like going into that greek diner that has a 20 page menu and the range of choices causes confusion and indecision. Due to major hunger pangs and deep thirst it only took one of the vendors to ask me if I wanted a beer to sit down at her stand.

The picture at the top of the page is what I ate and I was stuffed at the end. The only thing I was not a fan of was the soup, was a bit on the sour side for my taste.

Tried a San Miguel from the Philippines, I thought it was really good and for a light beer and it didn’t taste like water and helped put out the hot chilli flame that was blazing in my mouth.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Asia, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Chinatown Hawker Stands – Singapore”

  1. April 24, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Singapore to Mauritius: Good Bye Singapore | Toriano's "La Buena Vida" - January 21, 2012

    […] Chinatown Hawker Stand – One of my many trips to a hawker stand without getting sick the next day!!! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,320 other followers

