King’s Sandwich Shop


King's Sandwich Shop on Urbanspoon

20110429-150346.jpg

Eating with my iPhone report.

I have passed by this spot a couple times and just the sight of a corner outdoor burger joint is enough to induce hunger pangs. A long line is normally a good sign so today I did the right thing and pulled in.

What I ate:

Strawberry Milkshake – I don’t normally go for shakes but I said “f” it, it’s friday….I am now in love.

King Burger Combo w/bacon, cheese, mayo, pickles, ketchup and jalapeño ($8.25) – pretty good handmade burger that reminded me of my favorite from Cookout (but not quite as good).

After I ordered I struck up a conversation with a man as he waited for his hotdog. He talked about how he had been coming to King’s for years (est. 1942) after Durham Bull’s games ( King’s is across the street from the old ballpark). After the old ballpark closed Kings fell on hard times and closed. New life has come to North Durham and King’s opened back up and the word is they have the secret chili recipe from back in the day.

Looking forward to my next trip back here. There was a lot of interesting things on the menu and a guy next to me was eating a bratwurst sausage topped with pulled pork.

NOTE: CASH ONLY

20110429-150034.jpg

20110429-150201.jpg

20110429-150231.jpg

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

